Picture
Coconut "oopsies" with coconut whipped cream
So, I haven't updated in a LONG time, so this will be a longer than normal post filled with quite a number of pictures and random babblings.  Reason I haven't been updating is well...Diablo III.  Yes, I play computer games (I met my husband playing World of Warcraft) and now the long-awaited Diablo III was released last week.  I still stuck to my LCHF diet, so that's a good thing.  It was also "that time of the month" so I knew that the scale would be a bit skewy with the water retention and all. 

Here's my update.  I made a few more recipies from my various cookbooks and magazines and some with more success than others.  I also did a bit of experimenting.  Those were less successful!  To the left is a picture of my more successful creations.  It's two "oopsies" (I made them more coconuty by adding some shredded coconut and stevia to the mixture) with some coconut whipped cream (whipped cream with pressed virgin coconut oil, vanilla powder and stevia) with raspberries and blueberries.  Seriously, this was scrumptious.  As a side note, the stevia I used is the white one that's meant to be used like sugar.  My husband said that it was like eating waffles.  I let it sit in the fridge for a little while before serving so the oopsies became a little moist.  I felt that it added to the overall taste and texture.  My original plan was to make a meringue top, which I did, but it just didn't turn out to plan as well, stevia doesn't make the egg topping hard like sugar does.  It tasted "okay".  My daughter liked it.  It was like eating marshmallow on top of an oopsie.  Looked kinda funky in any case!

I also tried making coconut waffles.  Waffles made with coconut flour.  Didn't like them.  The texture was too grainy for my liking.  So I won't share that recipe with you.  I then made a "tiger cake" which tasted kinda like french toast.  It was a bit eggy.  Now, if you like french toast, like I do, it may not necessarily be a total failure.  But the idea was a cake, so in that case, it did fail.  It did get eaten though, so it wasn't a total waste.

Then on the weekend I made a chocolate pie LCHF style.  I think it tasted pretty good.  I did the coconut whipped cream to it, think it was a bit too much coconut so next time I'll skip that.  I also put a bit of shredded coconut in the crust (yes, I like coconut!), that tasted good though.  It does need a cream, so regular whipped cream will suffice.  I added a bit of stevia here and there to the original recipe in order to get it sweet enough for my liking.  Probably not wise seeing as that you wanna wean yourself from any sugar cravings.  I'll post the recipe for the chocolate pie either tonight or tomorrow.

All in all I'm coping quite well I think with the diet.  Now we're going to begin in earnest!  Will load up some pictures of my new LCHF finds during the next day or so.  Also, this weekend may be a bit of a challenge.  My sister-in-law is in town and so we're going to be eating with family on Friday and Saturday.  Friday will be a bbq, so I'm thinking I'll make some dessert or maybe some daikon gratin or coleslaw or caulflower dish and then on Saturday we'll be on the lake on my father-in-law's boat so it'll be "fika".  That's usually some cakes, coffee and sandwiches.  So I may make some LCHF goodies for that outing as well.  I'll keep you posted and post pictures!

10/10/2013 03:53:36 pm

Nothing gives a person so much advantage over another as to remain always cool and unruffled under all circumstances.

Reply



Leave a Reply.